If you have read/listened/seen my content, I have a favour to ask..

Dad and I finally get to celebrate a Calcutta Cup Victory at Twickenham for the first time in my life (2021)

The Rugby Scribbler has been my name online since 2016. A rugby blog started in secret in the corner of a bedroom in Catalonia has grown into something much larger than intended- it has taken me places I could never have dreamed of working, with people, organisations, and teams of the highest prestige- and I’m absolutely not done yet.

But this all began much before that room in Catalonia- it began with the support of two excellent parents, who have enabled me and encouraged me to do exactly what I want, who have fostered my love of rugby through watching and travelling to games, through coaching, and latterly, the love of Bristol Bears that my Mother and Father share together. Without them, there is no Rugby Scribbler.

On June 10th 2021, my Father was diagnosed with incurable lung cancer. The family had previously battled cancer with my sister overcoming Leukaemia at a young age. As we face this second bout of cancer, my sister is going to the wars again- this time not with cancer, but with a sprint triathlon. 750m of open water swimming, 19.8km of cycling, 5.4km of running and (I imagine) and an awful lot of sweat and tears, all in aid of the charities that have/are pulling us through this: CLIC Sargent (Now ‘Young Lives vs Cancer’) and Macmillan.

My request is a simple one. If you have enjoyed an article, heard me on the radio, seen me on a podcast, ever interacted with me online, if we have shared a beer, or if you’re just feeling generous, please sponsor my sister as she takes on her first triathlon, and the family takes on cancer.

There are two donation pages for the two charities as we try to achieve an even split.

Donate here: Sprint Triathlon for CLIC and Macmillan fundraising on JustGiving

Mum, Dad, Ali, you inspire me every day. Keep at it.

Rob, “The Rugby Scribbler”

4th August, 2021

Author: The Scribbler

Nobody listens to my rugby rants in the pub, so I decided to put them online. Content creator, see 'Repertoire & Testimonials' page for more information.

One thought on “If you have read/listened/seen my content, I have a favour to ask..”

Leave a comment